It’s been 18 days…

Thursday, January 28, 2016

I feel like I’ve lived here FUREVER but it’s only been 18 days.  So much has changed for me.

I started sleeping under the bed in OUR room this week.  There’s lots of room under there and I have a curtain that keeps it nice and dark.  I did have a little problem with it last night.  I was trying to get under the bed and I couldn’t get under the curtain.  Mama calls it a “bedskirt.”  Apparently, they heard me growling softly because the curtain wouldn’t move and I couldn’t get under the bed.

BBB looked down at me and started to laugh.

Yes.

He LAUGHED at me.  He definitely wasn’t laughing WITH me because I was NOT laughing.  I was frustrated and I was growling.

He reached down, petted me, and moved me a little to the side and I realized I had been sitting on the “bedskirt” and that’s why I couldn’t get under it.  After I moved, I was able to get under the bed with no problem.

That was around 11 when we went to bed.

I woke up around 3 and couldn’t get back to sleep so I decided to get up and play.  I raced back and forth between our room and the bathroom at the other end of the house.  I’ve been practicing “stopping on a dime” and turning around and racing back.  I do this with BBB every day but he doesn’t really want to do it with me at 3 in the morning.  In fact, he sleeps through it.

But Mama doesn’t.  I finally realized she had gotten up and was watching me.  She picked me up, kissed me on my head, straightened all the rugs I had messed up on my turns and carried me back to our room.  She held the “bedskirt” up while I settled back in for the rest of the night.

Because I’m a “good girl” and “sweet baby girl.”  No matter what time of the night it is.

This morning, a new friend named Dolores came to visit ME before Mama left for the library and I really liked her. I let her know I was here to protect our home but I really liked the ear scratches and petting she gave me. Mama left right after Dolores left.  More GALLIVANTING.

And when she came home, she brought BBB a piece of cake.  From a cake that another friend named “Lisa” brought to the library to celebrate my adoption.

Wha-a-a-a-t-t-t-t?

They celebrated ME without ME???!!!!!

I should have been there!

Mama told me I can’t be a member of the book group because I can’t read. But I still think I could have been there.  Their book was about a dog named Katie.  And she wasn’t a “bichon.”  She apparently runs up and down a hall.  Well, I do that, too.

I didn’t even get to lick the icing.

But….I got my Mama back.  I jumped in her lap and cuddled and kissed while we watched BBB eat his slice of MY cake.

Life was good for me before because I loved my doggy pals and France and Harriet at the shelter. My life here is awesome.  Mama tells everyone that she and BBB hit the “rescue pup” lotto when I chose them.  I try to show them every day how much I love them and our new life together.

18 days.  Seems like FUREVER.  For all of us.  We’re a family.

I still need to meet my sisters, Chele and Angie.

I’ll be nice.

I promise.

 

Leave a comment