Hi! I am Bella Selena Patterson of Tarpon Springs, FL

And so, my new life began on January 10, 2016

My name used to be “Selena Mae.”  I had another name before that but I don’t remember what it was. I had some scary times wandering streets for a long time.  I lost a lot of weight and was so afraid. Especially at night. Some really wonderful people at a place in Davie, FL took me in and named me “Selena Mae.”  And I love them.  I love them ALL.  They loved me and I stayed there a LONG time.  I didn’t see anyone I wanted as much as I wanted them and all my little dog pals.

Yesterday was different, though.  First, I saw Fran get some cookies and take Reggie out to the yard.  I figured someone new had come to get a pup.  I wondered if my friend Reggie would be leaving.  Reggie came back in and told me he liked them but he didn’t think he would be going with them.  Then I saw Goody go out with Fran.  Hmmmm, Goody is so much like me (‘cept he’s a boy dog) that I started to wonder if maybe I was going out there, too.  Maybe? Maybe?

Goody came running back in saying, “They liked me. They liked me!”  And, before I could get more out of him, Fran was calling me and telling me it was MY TURN now!  Wow!  So I followed her through the gate.  Oh, my.  I LOVED them on first sight and couldn’t help myself.  I jumped right up in the big man human’s lap and saw there were tears in his eyes.  Awww.  I needed to cuddle and kiss and make him feel better.  And then I looked at the lady human and my heart went “Kerthunka.” She had tears, too and she was calling me “Bella” and then “Bella Selena.”

I am quite “bella”, don’t you think?

Fran said she didn’t have time to spiff me up so I am a little shaggy right now.  But Sherri, my new human, told her that I’m beautiful no matter what.  I kept hearing them say, “This is the one.”  I wondered what that meant.  They sat around talking to Harriet and Eric (my saviors), and I saw a squirrel and ran off to play.  A little while later I went back over for more cuddles and kisses and someone put a collar and leash on me and Sherri picked me up.

I got in a big seat in the back of their car and everyone was waving bye bye and crying when we pulled out of the driveway.  A little while later, I jumped out of the seat and “Butch”, my big human crybaby, pulled the car over and got me and put me in Sherri’s lap where they both could talk to me and I could get cuddles and kisses.

I really like cuddles and kisses.  I long time later we stopped and I was able to go potty while Butch put stuff in his car.  He fixed me a bowl of water and I drank a lot.  I rode the rest of the way to my new home in my car bed underneath his jacket.  I took a little nap.  I was sooo tired. When we got to my new house, we walked up the side walk and somehow I knew I needed to turn into the driveway of a house.  I got to meet two other new human friends:  Dom and Maria.  We hit it off and I was able to look around and get cuddles and kisses.  They said I looked like someone named Beau but am littler. I look like “me”.  No one else.  Just me.

We went back down the street and I turned into the driveway where we had parked the car and I thought we were getting back in it, but they said, “No, Bella.”  You’re home now.  I leaped up the two steps from the garage into the house and started to check it out.  I got to eat and go for two more walks.  And I did a lot of exploring.  Then we all went to sleep.

When they got up, so did I.  Did my morning push up.

Then I looked everywhere for a doggy brush.  Look at me! I’m a mess.  I have bed head.

And crumbs on my chin.  My new humans need to get their acts together!  I’m here to stay and I expect certain amenities along with my kisses and cuddles.

But my tail is wiggle wagging with happiness and I’m cutting them a little slack today.

And I have found lots of places I like to lie and watch my humans while they aren’t playing with me.

Most of all, I love my new neighborhood and all the walks I am getting.  I met a little bichon named Stella this morning.  She was a little unhappy about her human, Steve, petting me.  But I straightened her little butt out.  I’m the new girl on the block and I’m here to stay.  She ended up liking me.

So what’s not to like?

I am Bella Selena Patterson of Tarpon Springs, FL.  And I love my new home.

Leave a comment