I’m gradually wowing them with my accomplishments

Monday, February 1, 2016

As I’ve settled into my new home, I’ve begun to show my humans how smart I am.

I had already shown them my talent in “track and field” events.  Mom says I am like a “heat seeking missile” when I launch myself into their laps without giving them any warning.  She says she has bruises shaped like little paw prints all over.

I think she exaggerates.

This week I added “heel” “stop” “go” to the commands I had already taught them — “sit” “stay” and “come.”  I didn’t want to show them too much right at the start.  They’ve got me in a harness now so I decided they were smart enough to handle my new commands.

The harness was a hoot.  BBB had the hardest time.  I kept trying to show him how a step in harness works and he kept messing it up.  I got a little frustrated.  He got a LOT frustrated.  Mom tried not to laugh.  When she came in from GALLIVANTING AGAIN this afternoon, she picked up the harness and I trotted over to show her how it works.  She put the right end over my head and I stepped right in, she fastened the under strap and off we went!  We showed BBB how it works when he came in later.  Now we’re all fine with it. Mom got me a new harness but we’re gonna wait until the other one needs washing to use it.

Mom read up on collars vs. harnesses for small dogs and that’s what made BBB decide  he needed to use the harness.  I still have my collar with tags on it and also have the harness.  Now if I see a squirrel and want to chase it, I won’t hurt my neck or risk a crushed trachea.

I tried some shrimp tonight.

I LOVED it.

I am truly a Florida girl.

Leave a comment